Schearer Prize goes to two

Posted by
On January 6, 2020

Four finalists

Finalists for the Schearer Prize, from left: Madhav Dhital, Pauf Neupane, Nish De Silva and Kentaro Mogushi

Kentaro Mogushi and Nishshanka De Silva, graduate students in physics, are winners of this year’s Schearer Prize, the annual graduate research competition in physics at S&T.

Mogushi received a first prize for his research on jet geometry and rate estimate of coincident gamma ray burst and gravitational wave observations. De Silva was awarded a first prize for his work on circular dichroism in multiphoton ionization of ultra-cold 6Li atoms in an intense femto-second laser field.

The competition is held in memory of Dr. Laird D. Schearer, the department’s first Curators’ Distinguished Professor of physics, and rewards graduate students for outstanding research performed during the course of their graduate study.

Share this page

Posted by

On January 6, 2020. Posted in Accomplishments