Graduate students recognized for outstanding research

Posted by
On May 7, 2019

Missouri S&T’s office of graduate studies recognized the winners of the 2019 Graduate Fellows Research Poster Session during an awards luncheon on March 19.

The four student honorees are:

  • Sherif Fakher, a Ph.D. student in petroleum engineering, won first place for his poster titled “Investigating the Factors Impacting Carbon Dioxide Adsorption to Shale Rock.”
  • Martin Di Stefano, a Ph.D. student in aerospace engineering, was the second-place winner for his poster titled “The Effect of Turbulence Model Uncertainty on Scramjet Isolator Flow Field Analysis.”
  • Michelle Gegel, a Ph.D. student in mechanical engineering, was the third-place winner for her poster, “Part Height Control of 5-Axis Direct Energy Deposition.”
  • Kenneth Campbell, a Ph.D. student in civil engineering, was the 2019 honorable mention for his poster titled “Assessing Activated Sludge Morphology and Oxygen Transfer Performance Using Image Analysis.”

Thirty-one students, all S&T Chancellor’s Fellows or Chancellor’s Distinguished Fellows, showcased their research during the university’s 10th annual Graduate Fellows Research Poster Session on Feb. 25.

“Both fellowships are very prestigious and all the participants presented the highest caliber of research during the poster session,” says Dr. Costas Tsatsoulis, vice chancellor of research and dean of graduate studies.

Faculty judges for the program included:

  • Dr. Ayodeji Alajo, professor of nuclear engineering
  • Dr. Fatih Dogan, professor of ceramic engineering
  • Dr. Leslie Gertsch, professor of geological engineering
  • Dr. Daoru Han, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering,
  • Dr. Kathryn Northcut, professor of technical communication
  • Dr. Guirong Yan, professor of structural engineering.

Share this page

Posted by

On May 7, 2019. Posted in Accomplishments