Missouri S&T student, chapter recognized by IEEE honor society

Posted by
On April 4, 2017

Emily Hernandez, a recent Missouri S&T graduate, and the university’s Chapter of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Eta Kappa Nu (IEEE-HKN) received awards at the annual meeting of the Electric and Computer Engineering Department Heads Association in Miramar Beach, Florida, on March 20. IEEE-Eta Kappa Nu (IEEE-HKN) is the honor society for electrical and computer engineering, with more than 200 chapters worldwide.

Hernandez, a 2016 electrical engineering graduate, received the 2016 Alton B. Zerby and Carl T. Koerner Outstanding Student Award of IEEE-HKN. One student receives this international award each year. Now a graduate student at Stanford University, Hernandez was active in student organizations, student research and service at Missouri S&T. In the award’s 52-year history, S&T students have won five times and earned honorable mention seven times.

The Missouri S&T Chapter of IEEE-HKN was one of 21 chapters recognized with a 2016 Outstanding Chapter Award. The chapter has been recognized in this program for 15 consecutive years. The Outstanding Chapter Awards are presented annually to chapters with active programs of recognition, professional development and service.  The co-advisors to the chapter are Dr. Steve E. Watkins, professor of electrical and computer engineering, Dr. Sahra Sedigh, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, and Dr. Theresa Swift, associate teaching professor of electrical and computer engineering.

Share this page

Posted by

On April 4, 2017. Posted in Accomplishments