Celebration of Life planned for Dr. Don Madison

Posted by on May 18, 2022

The Missouri S&T community is saddened to learn of the death of Dr. Don Madison, retired Curators’ Distinguished Professor emeritus of physics. He passed away Saturday, May 14, at age 77.

Read More »

Nature Physics publishes paper on wave diffusion

Posted by on February 1, 2022

Dr. Alexey Yamilov, professor of physics at S&T, co-wrote a paper titled “Depth-targeted Energy Delivery Deep Inside Scattering Media.”

Read More »

Schearer Prize goes to three

Posted by on December 7, 2021

Sujan Bastola, Xuecheng Ye and Jack Crewse, shown left to right, are the winners of the 28th annual Schearer Prize for graduate research.

Read More »

2021 Nobel Prize in Physics: Public Lecture

Posted by on November 15, 2021

“Hidden Patterns in Complex Systems”, a lecture on the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics, will be presented by Dr. Thomas Vojta, the chair of the S&T physics department, at 4pm on Thursday, November 18 in 104 Physics . The lecture is free and open to the public and suitable for interested undergraduates. This will be […]

Read More »

23 faculty receive tenure, promotions

Posted by on November 2, 2021

Twenty-three Missouri S&T faculty members received promotions and/or tenure, effective Sept. 1. The faculty members are:

Read More »

Honor Michael Schulz at retirement reception Thursday

Posted by on September 13, 2021

Dr. Michael Schulz, professor of physics, is retiring after 31 years of teaching at Missouri S&T. Wish him well at a reception 2-4 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 16, in the Fuller Room (Room 208) of the Physics Building.

Read More »

Fuller Prize goes to three

Posted by on June 1, 2021

Samuel Halladay, Steven Karst and Charles Kropp are the winners of the 2021 Fuller Prize Competition for Undergraduate Research.

Read More »

Undergraduate Research Conference winners announced

Posted by on June 1, 2021

Nineteen students in eight categories received recognition and cash awards as winners of S&T’s 16th annual Undergraduate Research Conference, held virtually in April. The winners and their faculty advisors on the projects are:

Read More »

Passing of Dr. Robert John Bell

Posted by on May 18, 2021

Dr. Robert John Bell, age 86, former physics professor at S&T, died May 9 in San Antonio, Texas. He served S&T’s physics department from 1965 until his retirement in 1992.

Read More »

Join journal club tomorrow

Posted by on May 6, 2021

Missouri S&T’s Women in Physics group will hold its first journal club at 3 p.m. Friday, May 7, via Zoom. he event is open to all to learn success stories of women in STEM.

Read More »