Schearer Prize goes to four

Posted by
On January 9, 2024

Schearer Prize winners

Schearer prize recipients are physics doctoral students, from left, Pablo Jara, Kevin Romans, Tuhin Das and Shruti Majurndar.

Pablo Jara, Kevin Romans, Tuhin Das and Shruti Majumdar, shown from left, are winners of the 30th annual Schearer Prize for graduate research in physics.

The competition is held in memory of Laird D. Schearer, the department’s first Curators’ Distinguished Professor of physics, and rewards graduate students for outstanding research performed during their graduate studies.

First prizes were awarded to Jara and Romans. Jara presented his research titled “Simulation of coherent emission in planar disordered medium.” Roman’s project is titled “A pump-probe experiment in cw-mode on the ionization of Rydberg atoms.”

Majumdar won second prize for her research on “Separation of PCI from non-PCI higher order effects in ionization of helium by proton impact.”

Third prize went to Das for his project “Retardation effects in atom-wall interactions.

Share this page

Posted by

On January 9, 2024. Posted in Accomplishments