S&T researchers coauthor paper, wins 2023 Jerry Silver Award

Posted by
On April 4, 2023

A proceeding from the AISTech – Iron and Steel Technology Conference has been selected to receive the 2023 Jerry Silver Award. The paper, titled “Effect of Mold Powder Residue on Thin-Cast Slab Scale Structure Evolution During Reheating and Descaling,” is coauthored by Dr. Ronald O’Malley, the Iverson Chair Professor of materials science and engineering and director of the Kent D. Peaslee Steel Manufacturing Research Center, and Dr. Simon Lekakh, professor emeritus of materials science and engineering.

The award will be presented at the Metallurgy Processing Products and Applications Technology Committee meeting on Oct. 3 in Columbus, Ohio.

Other authors include:

  • Richard Osei, PhD MSE’22, product development metallurgical engineer.
  • Dmitry Tsvetkov, product development engineering for Steel Dynamics Inc.
  • Anthony Bader, quality manager for Steel Dynamics Inc.

Share this page

Posted by

On April 4, 2023. Posted in Accomplishments