Researchers win 2022 SAE John Johnson Award

Posted by
On April 4, 2023

A team of researchers led by Dr. Joseph Smith, professor of chemical and biochemical engineering, were selected for the 2022 SAE John Johnson Award for Outstanding Research in Diesel Engines. The award was given for research focusing on investigating how urea deposits inside a commercial vehicle’s selective catalytic reduction nitrogen oxide control device. The paper, titled “Experimental Investigation of Urea Deposit Formation in Selective Catalyst Reduction System to Guide Product Development,” was published in SAE International Journal of Fuels and Lubricants.

The researchers included:

  • Anand Alembath, doctoral student in chemical engineering.
  • Brian Mooney, associate research professor at University of Missouri-Columbia.
  • Rajashekharaiah Shashidhara, chief engineer at Faurecia Clean Mobility.

Share this page

Posted by

On April 4, 2023. Posted in Accomplishments