Three named to Missouri S&T’s Women’s Hall of Fame

Posted by
On March 16, 2023

2023 Womens Hall of Fame

Missouri S&T’s newest Women’s Hall of Fame awardees pose with Dr. Nicole Roberson, chief diversity officer, on March 15 at the Havener Center. From left: Courtney Parks, Reneé Miller, Roberson, and Nancy Pendleton.

Missouri S&T recognized three women at the 2023 Women’s Hall of Fame Awards, held Wednesday, March 15, in the Havener Center. The honorees are Missouri S&T alumnae:

  • Reneé Miller, a 1983 graduate in metallurgical engineering
  • Courtney Parks, a 2011 graduate in engineering management
  • Nancy Pendleton, a 1988 graduate in electrical engineering.

Each honoree was introduced by a current student with an academic major in the same or similar area:

  • Delaney Struckhoff, a metallurgical engineering student, introduced Miller.
  • Kyah Donald, a business and management systems student, introduced Parks.
  • Brooke Jackson, an electrical engineering student, introduced Pendleton.

Dr. Nicole Roberson, vice chancellor of diversity, equity and inclusion and chief diversity officer at S&T, read the poem “You Could Have Given Up,” by S.C. Lourie. She encouraged attendees to take a packet of flower seeds with them as a reminder of how every individual – like the three Women’s Hall of Fame inductees – can plant seeds and can influence the lives of others.

The awards ceremony was hosted by S&T’s Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, and the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Diversity and Inclusion. The Women’s Hall of Fame recognition has been awarded since 2005 to alumnae or faculty who are selected because of their success, influence, and ability to inspire and positively affect students, the Missouri S&T community and beyond.

Share this page

Posted by

On March 16, 2023. Posted in Accomplishments, Announcements