Sundaramoorthy wins Three Minute Thesis competition

Posted by
On November 21, 2022

3MT finalists are, from left: Santhoshkumar Sundaramoorthy, Ankit Agarwal, Seyi Obafemi, Tazdik Patwary Plateau and Mohamed Elmahallaway. Photo courtesy of Sharon Matson.

Santhoshkumar Sundaramoorthy, a Ph.D. candidate in chemistry, wins first place at Three Minute Thesis competition.

Santhoshkumar Sundaramoorthy, a Ph.D. candidate in chemistry, won first place in S&T’s seventh annual Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition on Thursday, Nov. 3.

Sundaramoorthy impressed the j­­­udges with his research presentation titled “Making Electric Vehicles Efficient and Affordable.” His research focuses on discovering new chalcogen materials using a building block approach for energy storage applications.

“As a fundamental solid-state chemist, I felt extremely happy when I got this opportunity to present my work to a general audience,” says Sundaramoorthy. “The cherry on top is getting recognized by everyone for my work, which means a lot to me as a chemist.”

Seyi Obafemi, a Ph.D. candidate in geology and geophysics, was named the runner-up with his presentation titled “Importance of 3D Geological Reservoir Modeling to CO2 Sequestration.” The People’s Choice Award went to Tazdik Patwary Plateau, a Ph. D. candidate in mechanical engineering, with a presentation titled, “3,000 Miles without Fueling: 3D Battery.”

Additional finalists who competed this year include Ankit Agarwal, a PhD. Candidate in engineering management, and Mohamed Elmahallawy, a Ph.D. candidate in computer science.

The 3MT competition originated with the University of Queensland, New Zealand, and is now held annually at over 900 universities worldwide.

Share this page

Posted by

On November 21, 2022. Posted in Announcements