American Ceramic Society honors S&T alumni, faculty

Posted by
On November 1, 2022

The American Ceramic Society announced its 2022 awards in Pittsburgh on Oct. 11. The following S&T alumni and faculty received awards:

  • Kent Weisenstein, ceramic engineering alumnus and member of the S&T Academy of Mines and Metallurgy, was named a Distinguished Life Member.
  • Dr. Jeffrey Smith, professor of ceramic engineering, was awarded the Outstanding Educator award.
  • Dr. Bill Fahrenholtz, Curators’ Distinguished Professor of ceramic engineering, received the Robert B. Sosman Award. As the awardee, Fahrenholtz will present a plenary lecture at the society’s annual meeting.
  • Mo-Sci Corporation received the Corporate Technical Achievement Award for the commercialization of Mirragen Advanced Wound Matrix, which is based on Missouri S&T patents by alumni Dr. Steven Jung and Dr. Delbert Day, Curators’ Professor Emeritus of ceramic engineering.

Share this page

Posted by

On November 1, 2022. Posted in Accomplishments