Writing contest winners announced

Posted by
On November 2, 2021

Missouri S&T has announced 10 winners in S&T’s 150th Anniversary Poetry and Writing Contest. The university partnered with Arts Rolla, Southwinds, the S&T Writing Center and the Center for Arts and Innovation to host the competition for original written works.

The contest was divided into youth and adult divisions. The youth division awarded prizes for poetry, while the adult division awarded prizes for poetry and flash fiction. 

Youth division winners will be honored at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 3, at the Rolla Public Library. Adult division winners will be honored at 6 p.m. Monday, Nov. 8, at Cedar Street Playhouse in Rolla. 

The winning entries will be included in the university’s 150th anniversary time capsule and will be published in the 2022 edition of Southwinds, a literary magazine published annually by the English and technical communication department at S&T. 

Poetry – Adult Division

  • First place: “Mission of a Miner” by Abdullah Al Moinee
  • Second place: “The future is bright” by Peter Ehrhard
  • Third place: Tie between “Mourned” by Kenneth Schmidt and “Winter Prayer for Lucretius” by Patrick Tibbits.

Flash Fiction – Adult Division

  • First place: “The Campus Visit” by Laurie Alberswerth
  • Second place: “The Time-Traveling Miner” by Anna Peacock
  • Third place: “Playing in the Dirt” by Celtic Pipkin.

Poetry – Youth Division

  • First place: “For One Hundred Fifty Years” by Eyram Dumor of Rolla
  • Second place: “Missouri’s Miner” by Grant Rodriguez of St. James
  • Third place: “S&T Poem” by Catriona Murphy of St. James.

Share this page

Posted by

On November 2, 2021. Posted in Accomplishments