Staff Council’s awards go to 15

Posted by
On July 14, 2021

Fifteen Missouri S&T employees have been honored for their contributions to the university.

2021 Staff Council Awards

The winners were nominated by faculty, staff and students, and then selected by a group of Staff Council members. Winners are selected based on their job performance, relationship with associates and dedication to Missouri S&T.

Twelve staff members received the 2021 Staff Excellence Award. They are:

  • Wendy Estes, strategic partner in human resources
  • Misty Fulliam, business support specialist in teacher education and certification
  • John Held, director of planned giving in development
  • Erica Long, senior academic advisor in mechanical and aerospace engineering
  • Joni Matlock, finance and accounting specialist in fiscal services
  • Kurt Pritchett, expert system support analyst in information technology
  • Patricia Robertson, administrative assistant in geosciences and geological and petroleum engineering
  • Renee Stone, accountant in alumni affairs
  • Jerry Tichenor, research technical services supervisor in electrical and computer engineering
  • Simone Waldon, strategic partner in human resources
  • Cindy Welch, assistant director of student support services in admissions
  • Shawn Wiles, police corporal for University Police.

Each awardee will receive a certificate and a copy of Forged in Gold by Dr. Larry Gragg.

In 2019, S&T Staff Council created a new award for a staff member who is new to campus (worked at S&T for up to two years) and who makes a positive impact. Angelica Nuno, finance and accounting specialist in fiscal services, received the 2021 Outstanding Newcomer Award.

Also new to Staff Council in 2019 was the Outstanding Faculty Award. This award recognizes a faculty member who is actively engaged in supporting staff across campus. Dr. Daryl Beetner, professor of engineering in electrical and computer engineering, received the 2021 Outstanding Faculty Award.

In addition to the staff and faculty excellence awards, Staff Council presented the Jan Buhlinger Spirit Award to Amanda Kossuth, academic advisor in the S&T advising center. The award is named for the late Jan Buhlinger, a former Missouri S&T staff member and member of Staff Council. Recipients are selected by Staff Council based on their Missouri S&T spirit.

Share this page

Posted by

On July 14, 2021. Posted in Announcements