S&T joins JED to support mental health, committee leads efforts

Posted by
On February 1, 2021
JED campus seal

Missouri S&T has joined JED Campus in support of student well-being and mental health. The program is a nationwide initiative of The JED Foundation (JED) designed to help schools evaluate and strengthen their mental health, substance misuse and suicide prevention programs to safeguard individual and community health. S&T’s membership began with establishing an interdisciplinary, campuswide team.

The team is named the S&T Health and Well-being Committee. It includes:

Committee chairs

Committee Logo
  • Dr. Debra Robinson, vice chancellor for student affairs
  • Dr. Steve Roberts, interim provost and executive vice chancellor of academic affairs
  • Jessica Gargus, director of Miner Wellness.

Committee members

  • Alison Ayers, assistant director of student involvement and Greek life
  • Dr. Denise Baker, assistant professor of psychological science
  • Mindy Bryson, nurse practitioner for student health services
  • Eleanor Chapman, office support associate for international affairs
  • Lynne Davidson, counselor for counseling services
  • Tyrone Davidson, director of academic advising
  • Dr. Kate Drowne, interim vice provost and dean for the College of Arts, Sciences, and Business
  • Carol Durk, manager of testing and student disability services
  • Dr. Daniel Forciniti, associate provost of faculty affairs and professor of chemical and biochemical engineering
  • Chelsea George, wellness coordinator for Miner Wellness
  • Dr. Edna Grover-Bisker, assistant vice chancellor of student affairs
  • Brett Hartley, wellness coordinator for Miner Wellness
  • Velvet Hasner, manager of internal communications
  • Dr. Greg Hilmas, Curators’ Distinguished Professor of ceramic engineering and chair of materials science and engineering
  • Wayne Jones, senior director of institutional research and data management
  • Josh Lind, senior compliance manager for athletics and recreation
  • Erica Long, senior academic advisor in mechanical and aerospace engineering
  • Sharon Matson, manager of student support services in graduate studies
  • Dr. Jonathan Minor, physician for student health services
  • Rachel Morris, assistant vice provost for student services in academic support
  • Dr. Kathryn Northcut, interim vice provost of academic support
  • Neil Outar, chief diversity officer
  • Dorie Paine, senior director of residential life
  • Leneisa Parks, student support specialist in the Student Success Center
  • Michael Pleimann, acting director of new student programs
  • Mark Potrafka, director of student support services at the Havener Center
  • Barb Prewett, assistant dean of students
  • Doug Roberts, chief of University Police
  • Shobi Sivadasan, vice provost of enrollment management
  • Kelly Thornborrow, wellness coordinator
  • Cathy Tipton, director of recruitment and admissions
  • Mark Van Zandt, counsel for the University of Missouri System
  • Bruce Wade, minister of students at S&T’s Baptist Student Union
  • Sammatha Wilcox, senior student support specialist in career opportunities and employer relations
  • Dr. Dave Westenberg, professor of biological sciences
  • Laura Woods-Buchanan, wellness coordinator for Miner Wellness.

For more information, please visit wellbeing.mst.edu/jed.  

Share this page

Posted by

On February 1, 2021. Posted in Announcements