Hilmas named chair of materials science, engineering

Posted by
On August 23, 2018

Greg Hilmas

Dr. Gregory Hilmas, Curators’ Distinguished Professor of ceramic engineering, has been named chair of materials science and engineering. He has served as interim department chair since July 2017.

He succeeds Dr. Matthew J. O’Keefe, executive director of the Haley Barbour Center for Manufacturing Excellence at the University of Mississippi.

“Greg is one of our best-known and most productive researchers on campus, whose accolades include receiving an R&D 100 award from Research and Development magazine — an honor referred to as the ‘Oscars of Invention’ and the ‘Pulitzer Prize of Technology,’” says Dr. Richard Wlezien, vice provost and dean of the College of Engineering and Computing. “And he’s equally accomplished in the classroom, receiving numerous outstanding teaching awards in a department known for its commitment to student learning.”

Read more.

Share this page

Posted by

On August 23, 2018. Posted in Announcements