Student Council announces Student Leaders’ Awards

Posted by
On May 3, 2017

Outstanding individuals and organizations were honored at the 14th Annual Student Leaders Award ceremony on April 12. The event is hosted by Student Council. Awardees include:

Student awards

  • Remarkable Student Group: Association of Computing Machinery
  • Most Improved Student Organization: Riders’ Society
  • Most Spirited Miner Award: Pranita Nayak
  • Outstanding Student Advocate: Nathan Compton
  • Extraordinary Faculty Award: Terry Wilson, associate teaching professor of biological sciences
  • Diversity Recognition Award: Roberta Morgan, director of program and project operations for international affairs
  • The Keystone Award: Hadley Bjerke

Student organization awards

  • Blue Key’s Miner of the Semester and Organization of the Semester: Taylor Smith and KMNR
  • International and Cultural Affairs’ Missouri S&T International Ambassador Award: Sudharshan Anandan
  • International and Cultural Affairs’ Missouri S&T Honorary Global Counselor: Dr. Francisca Oboh-Ikuenobe, professor of geology and interim chair of geological sciences and geological and petroleum engineering

New student program awards

  • Outstanding Volunteer and Organization: Alyssa McCarthy and the Student Union Board
  • Building Bridges Award: S&T Ambassadors

Miner Alumni Association awards

  • Joe Mooney Distinguished Student Award: Heather Reynolds and Jonathan Colgan
  • Miner Alumni Association Leadership Award: Kelly Stevens and Logan Wilcox

Society of Women Engineers award

  • Pink Award: Alyssa Nelson

Student Council awards

  • Rookie of the Year: Madison Moore
  • Member of the Year: Morgan Hale

Student Union Board

  • Ned and Berna Harvey Volunteer Involvement Award: Jacee Wood and John Sykora Jr.

National Residence Hall Honorary

  • Up-and-Coming Leader Scholarship: Matthew Sauer

Residence Hall Association

  • Golden Gavel Award: John Keiser

Counseling, Disability Support, and Student Wellness

  • STEP UP!: Nicholas Luckert

Student Life

  • Outstanding Service Award: Nicholas O’Gorman
  • Impact Award: Ashley Allegri and Hadley Bjerke
  • Miner of the Year Award: Julie Juhala
  • Rising Miner Award: Owen Murphy
  • Donald D. Myers Scholarship: Aaron Harmon

Student Affairs

  • Extraordinary Student Leadership Award: Kevin Smith

Share this page

Posted by

On May 3, 2017. Posted in Accomplishments