Students and faculty recognized in IEEE Region 5

Posted by
On May 3, 2016

Electrical and computer engineering students Li Guan and Matthew Wedewer were the first-place winners in the recent Region 5 Student Electronic Circuit Design Competition, in which the students had to design and build a circuit in a limited time. This means that Missouri S&T earned first place two years in a row. Dr. R. Joe Stanley, associate professor in electrical and computer engineering, received the Outstanding Educator Award, and Leann Krieger, electrical engineering senior, received the Outstanding Student Member Award. Devin Cornell, a 2015 electrical engineering graduate of S&T, served as the student activities chair, and Dr. Steve E. Watkins, professor of electrical and computer engineering, coordinated the student ethics competition.

The student and recognition events were held in April at the 2016 Region 5 Annual Conference of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in Kansas City, Missouri. Region 5 includes Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas and parts of the surrounding states.

Share this page

Posted by

On May 3, 2016. Posted in Accomplishments