Computer science names two Daniel St. Clair Faculty Fellows

Posted by
On July 8, 2015

Dr. Dan Lin and Dr. Zhaozheng Yin were recently named Daniel St. Clair Faculty Fellows by the computer science department. Daniel St. Clair Faculty Fellows are rising stars – either an assistant professor in years three to six after appointment at Missouri S&T, or a tenured associate professor within four years of tenure/promotion. The award comes with the title Daniel St. Clair Faculty Fellow and a $10,000 annual discretionary fund each year for two years.

For its Golden Jubilee year – 2015 – the department decided to strategically invest in supporting outstanding assistant and associate professors through a newly created Faculty Excellence Award Program made possible by funds from the Daniel St. Clair Endowed Chair position.

Funds can be used to support the following:

  • Graduate and undergraduate research assistants, and visiting research collaborators
  • Equipment to support campus-based research programs
  • Conference travel by faculty fellows and their students

The Daniel St. Clair endowment was created through donations by alumni and is named after former chair Daniel St. Clair, who was instrumental in creating the endowment. Holders of the endowment reflect St. Clair’s strong sense of moral and ethical ideals and commitment to educational and research ethics, and the St. Clair Faculty Fellows program brings the scope of his vision to our rising stars.

Share this page

Posted by

On July 8, 2015. Posted in Announcements