Infrastructure is topic of Distinguished Research Seminar on Wednesday

Posted by
On March 3, 2011

Professor Massoud Amin will give a Distinguished Research Seminar titled, “Fixing Our Infrastructure,” from 11:15 a.m.-12:15 p.m. Wednesday, March 9, in Room 103 Engineering Management Building. A brief reception will be held prior to the seminar at 10:45 a.m. The seminar is sponsored by the Energy Research and Development Center. Those unable to attend may watch a videotape of the seminar in the archives.

Amin is leading extensive research and development efforts into smart grid development. At the University of Minnesota, he leads a team of five endowed chairs, 47 senior faculty members and industry executives who develop local and global leaders for technology enterprises. He teaches and researches in complex dynamical systems, smart grids, pivotal and emerging technologies, science and technology policy, and critical infrastructure security.
Before becoming a professor of electrical and computer engineering, the Honeywell/H.W. Sweatt Chair in Technological Leadership, and a University Distinguished Professor at the University of Minnesota, Amin directed all infrastructure security, grid operations/planning, and energy markets at the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) after 9/11. Prior to that he led mathematics and information sciences at EPRI, pioneered research and development in smart grids, worked on self-repairing energy infrastructures, and led the development of more than 24 technologies transferred to industry.
Amin is the author or co-author of more than 190 peer-reviewed papers, and the editor of seven collections of manuscripts. Board appointments include the board of directors of the Texas RE (2010-present), Board on Infrastructure and the Constructed Environment (BICE) at the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (2001-2007), and the Board on Mathematical Sciences and Applications (BMSA) at the National Academy of Sciences (2006-2009). He serves on the editorial boards of six international journals. He was three times Professor of the Year at Washington University in St. Louis (1992-1995), received the 2002 President’s Award for the Infrastructure Security Initiative at EPRI, and twice received the Chauncey Award, the Institute’s highest honor.

Share this page

Posted by

On March 3, 2011. Posted in Lectures