Women’s award winners announced

Posted by
On December 3, 2009

Cecilia Elmore and Paula Lutz were named co-winners of the Missouri S&T Alumna of the Year Award. The Missouri S&T Alumna and Women Student of the Year Awards endowment was created by three Missouri S&T professors: Dr. Mariesa Crow, F. Finley Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering; Dr. Dee Haemmerlie Montgomery, Curator’s Teaching Professor of Psychology; and Dr. Ann Miller, Cynthia Tang Missouri Distinguished Professor of Computer Science.

Elmore, director of S&T’s Women’s Leadership Institute, earned her bachelor’s degree in engineering management from S&T in 1986, where she was also a varsity athlete in basketball and softball. Her professional achievements include being honored as a Chi Omega Outstanding Student Instructor, receiving the Society of Hispanic Engineers Gold Support Award and winning the UMR/MSM Outstanding Varsity Athlete Alumni Achievement Award. Elmore has served as an instructor for Women as Global Leaders, including Guatemala service and outreach experiences, as interim director of student diversity programs and as director of pre-college outreach summer camps for girls. Her service contributions include staff advisor for Delta Omicron Lambda women’s service organization, mentoring female engineering students through MentorNet, and counselor for the Society of Women Engineers student chapter. Elmore is a member of the Women in Engineering Programs Advocates Network and the Women in Science and Engineering Advisory
Lutz is presently dean of the College of Letters and Science at Montana State University. She earned her bachelor’s degree in chemistry with life science preference from S&T in 1976, then went on to earn her Ph.D. in microbiology and immunology in 1981 from Duke University. Achievements in her professional field include her service as dean of the college of arts and sciences (the first female dean in S&T’s history), department chair of biological sciences at S&T, and recognition as UMR Woman of the Year in 1999. During her tenure at S&T, Lutz received seven Faculty Excellence Awards and six Outstanding Teaching Awards. Lutz helped develop the Women’s Leadership Institute and the Expanding Your Horizons Program. She serves on the Advisory Board for a National Science Foundation ADVANCE grant at Montana State to promote the careers of women faculty in STEM fields.
The Missouri S&T Alumna Silver Award winner for 2009 is Jean Holley, senior vice president and CIO of Tellabs. Holley earned her bachelor’s degree in computer science from S&T in 1981 and a master’s degree in computer science and engineering in 1986 from the Illinois Institute of Technology. Achievements in her professional field include the Association of IT Professionals CIO of the Year award. She is listed by Computer World as one of the top 100 CIO’s and the YWCA recognized her as an Outstanding Woman Leader in Business and Professional Work. Other recognitions include the Award of Merit from the Illinois Institute of Technology and her induction into the Women in Science and Engineering Hall of Fame at S&T.
The Missouri S&T Woman Student of the Year Gold Award winner is Katherine Fritts, a senior majoring in mechanical engineering. Fritts has served as president of the S&T Engineers Without Borders chapter, vice president of the Residential College Association, vice president of the Perfect 10 Improv Troupe and representative to the Student Judicial Board and the Student Union Board. She is also the public relations chair for Blue Key. As a student leader, Fritts has had the opportunity to promote and support the inclusion of women and minorities in campus activities, as well as explore cultural diversity overseas. She is also the first student regional representative for EWB-USA.
The Missouri S&T Woman Student of the Year Silver Award winner is Kathryn Rodhouse, a senior majoring in computer science. Rodhouse is involved with the Chancellor’s Leadership Academy, Learning Enhancement Across Disciplines Program, Society of Women Engineers, and Women’s Leadership Institute. She is also an S&T Opening Week mentor and a Russell House volunteer.
The Missouri S&T Woman Student of the Year Bronze Award winner is Kandi Wieberg. Wieberg earned her bachelor’s degree in 2008 in civil engineering and is currently working toward her master’s degree in civil engineering. She was a varsity athlete in softball and team captain, Academic All American 2007-2008 and ESPN Academic-All American second team in 2008.

Share this page

Posted by

On December 3, 2009. Posted in Announcements