Archives for August 2, 2016

ASEM award named after William Daughton

The American Society for Engineering Management recently named one of its annual awards after Dr. William Daughton, professor emeritus of engineering management and systems engineering. Daughton recently retired as executive director of the society, and to recognize his service and contributions to the society, ASEM renamed one of its service awards to the William Daughton World Headquarters Service Award. This award recognizes significant contributions to the streamlining, enhancement or improvement of the day-to-day operations of ASEM world headquarters. Daughton is also an ASEM Fellow.

Sneed improves ACI building codes

Dr. Lesley Sneed, associate professor of civil, architectural and environmental engineering, has been recognized by the American Concrete Institute for moving building codes forward. Sneed served as principle investigator of a project titled “Interface Shear Transfer of Lightweight Aggregate Concretes with Different Lightweight Aggregates.” The findings from this research proposed revisions to the next edition of the ACI 318 code and PCI Design Handbook for shear-friction design provisions of a smooth interface condition.

Westenberg recognized by ASM

Dr. Dave Westenberg, associate professor of biological sciences, was recognized at the American Society for Microbiology’s annual meeting (ASM Microbe) for his service as chair of the ASM Committee for K-12 Outreach. ASM president Lynn Enquist and ASM Education Board chair Mary Sanchez Lanier presented Westenberg with an engraved vase in recognition of his service.

Bai earns SPE award

Dr. Baojun Bai, professor of geosciences and geological and petroleum engineering, earned the 2016 Regional Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty from the Society of Petroleum Engineers. This award is an acknowledgement of his outstanding contribution to the field.

Crow earns IEEE educator award

Dr. Mariesa Crow, the Fred W. Finley Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and vice provost for research, received the 2016 IEEE Power and Energy Society Outstanding Engineering Educator Award. The IEEE PES is one of IEEE’s larger societies.

Brown to appear on C-SPAN Aug. 20

Dr. Trent Brown, associate professor of American studies, will be featured on C-SPAN at 3 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 20. Brown will be part of a panel titled “Civil Rights History II.”

Bachman promotes I-Corps program in D.C.

Dr. Bonnie Bachman, professor of economics, recently participated in a workshop on university research commercialization and entrepreneurship sponsored by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. The workshop, held July 25 at the Eisenhower Executive Office Building in Washington, D.C., focused on addressing complex global issues through science and technology research and entrepreneurship. […]

Careaga named CASE trustee

Andrew Careaga, executive director of marketing and communications, has been appointed to a three-year term on the board of trustees for the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). Careaga was appointed during the CASE Annual Assembly held July 17-19 in New York City. As a trustee, Careaga will represent CASE District VI, […]

Oerther named Fellow of American Academy of Nursing

Dr. Daniel B. Oerther, professor of civil, architectural and environmental engineering, has been named a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing (AAN). As one of 50 non-nursing Fellows, he joins others who advance healthy policy and practice through nursing knowledge. The AAN is composed of nursing’s most accomplished leaders in education management, practice and research selected from among the more than 150,000 members of the American Nurses Association (ANA).